{ "id": 38, "name": "The Depths Caller", "name_anchor": "the-depths-caller", "uri": "https://mtgtreachery.net/rules/oracle/?card=the-depths-caller", "cost": "", "cmc": 0, "color": "red", "type": "Identity — Assassin", "types": { "supertype": "Identity", "subtype": "Assassin" }, "rarity": "M", "text": "Unveil {X}{3}|When The Depths Caller is unveiled, choose a permanent type and tap any number of untapped permanents of that type you control. Search your library for a card of the chosen type with mana value no more than X plus the number of permanents tapped this way, put it onto the battlefield tapped, then shuffle.", "flavor": "", "artist": "Gerald Brom", "rulings": [ "The X in the unveiling triggered ability has the same value as the X paid in the Unveil ability. This is pretty easy to derive since there is no other source of X.", "Once The Depths Caller’s unveiling triggered ability begins to resolve, no players may take other actions until it’s done. Notably, players can’t try to destroy your permanents after you’ve chosen a type.", "If a card in a player’s library has {X} in its mana cost, X is considered to be 0.", "You can tap any untapped creature you control, even one you haven’t controlled continuously since the beginning of your most recent turn.", "Tapping an untapped creature that’s attacking or blocking won’t cause that creature to stop attacking or blocking.", "Tapping an artifact won’t cause its abilities to stop applying unless those abilities say so.", "Equipment attached to a creature doesn’t become tapped when that creature becomes tapped, and tapping that Equipment doesn’t cause the creature to become tapped." ] }